Exploring Balboa Park

On June 21, I decided to use my day off to go to the San Diego Museum of Art and explore Balboa Park.

I had previously visited Balboa Park during Spring Break when I was out for my internship interview.  Erich and I visited the Mingei International Museum upon Susan’s recommendation.

I had an enjoyable walk to the museum from my car.  The weather was beautiful: warm, sunny and not a cloud in the sky!

For about an hour and a half I wandered around the museum.  My favorite painting had to be The Young Shepherdess by William-Adolphe Bouguereau.

Maybe it was because it was something about sheep or fiber related, but it just struck me as a painting I  needed to constantly go back to study!  Or maybe something about her reminded me of myself.  I found a postcard of the painting in the museum gift shop for a dollar, so I decided that was a good souvenir.  Interestingly enough, I didn’t notice until long after I left Balboa Park that the very same girl was on the visitor sticker I received upon paying admission!

On a critical note, the museum was smaller than I imagined it to be.  Perhaps I am spoiled with the Phoenix Museum of Art or the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art in Kansas City. I left the museum at about noon.  I couldn’t decide if I wanted to spend money on a lunch at the museum’s cafe, or if I wanted to just get a snack at first.  As I exited the museum, the bells were playing Pachabel Canon.  Soon after they played Fur Elise and following that Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah!  There was some sort of children’s camp event happening near the Lily Pond.

I sat there for a bit, gathering my thoughts, taking a few photos and enjoying the atmosphere. I decided to go back to a a small coffee bar I had passed before going to the museum.  I got a cappuccino and an apple to nibble while I continued exploring the park.  I walked towards the Natural History Museum (an adventure for another day!) and found the large fountain.  I had to call my Mom a couple of times just so that I could get some of my excitement out.

As I continued walking around, I discovered that I was going toward the San Diego Zoo entrance.  That put things into a little more perspective of where I was.  After walking back toward the fountain, I went through the Spanish Village Art Center.

If I had not had a drink in my hand, I would have explored there more, but I didn’t want to accidentally spill my coffee on anyone’s art.  It’s highly unlikely I would, but I didn’t want to risk it.  I did see an outdoor glass blowing demonstration.  Actually, I think it was a lesson, but still very interesting to watch!  I want to go through there again (without a drink) so that I might explore the studios a bit more and maybe even purchase some art!

Before I left the park, I went into the Timken Museum of Art since it was free.  They did not allow pictures inside.  I wish they had because there was an image of a plaza in Venice that looked terribly familiar to me.  I ended up calling Mom again to ask if it was the one she and my Dad had visited on their cruise and it was!  I knew there was a reason the painting looked so familiar; I had seen a photograph she took of St. Mark’s Square!

After going through that small museum, it was about 2:30.  I decided it was about time for me to leave Balboa Park because I had a class to assist teaching at my internship in a few hours.

I simply cannot wait to return for another adventure in Balboa Park!

One response to “Exploring Balboa Park

  1. Pingback: Sometimes the Store is Dead or Catching Up on the Blog | Mm….Fiber Art!

Leave a Reply

