Writing Prompt: The Best Time of Day is…

I’m a night owl.  I would rather stay up till 2 am (or later on the weekends) than get up at the crack of dawn.  However, the more I think about it, I wish I could get up at a decent early hour, say 8ish, and go about my day.

I love to sleep, so maybe when I get to go to bed at night (even though I don’t always want to) is my favorite time of day.  But I also like the moments in the middle of the night when I’m the only one awake.  It’s not like I do anything super productive then (sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t).  I just enjoy being awake late.  Something else I enjoy is that feeling when your eyelids are just too heavy to continue staying awake.  Of course, I don’t enjoy it when I’m in the middle of a morning class, but when I’m already in my bed during those late hours I spend awake.

This prompt brought something else to mind.  Last November, I took my very first road trip all by myself.  My initial plan was to get up at 4am and go, but I ended up getting up at 3am.  I enjoyed the feeling of driving through the dark, few cars on the road, and just the moon as my company.  When it began to get light out a few hours later, I was almost sad because I knew there would be more people on the road and I had been enjoying the dark atmosphere.  I hope I can do another one of those trips soon.

Another thing that I thought of as I started writing this post was something that my Dad did to us as we were growing up (and now).  Early Saturday morning, when we lived in Kansas still, he would stomp up the stairs reciting the last stanza of Longfellow’s Psalm of Life:

    Let us, then, be up and doing,
With a heart for any fate ;
Still achieving, still pursuing,
Learn to labor and to wait.

He would then proceed to come into my siblings bedrooms and shake the mattress saying, “GOOD MORNING!”  While we didn’t enjoy it at the time, and while we no longer have stairs for him to stomp up as he recites the poem, we laugh when it continues to happen when we’re home at holidays.  Sometimes we even do it to each other.

So, in closing, I guess I enjoy the wee hours of the morning the best, but preferably when I see them before I go to sleep.

Leave a Reply

