About Megan

Hello!
My name is Megan. I’m a junior in college at Arizona State University majoring in Fiber Art.  If you’re wondering what Fiber Art is exactly, it has nothing to do with fiber glass, fiber optics, or cereal.  It is simply textile art, such as sewing, printing fabric, weaving, knitting, embroidery, etc.

Embroidered Coffee Press with Printed and Dyed Coffee Bean Fabric

Now that we’ve gotten that explanation out of the way, perhaps I should tell you where I came from.  I was born in Kansas, though that was a long time ago.  So perhaps we should stick to the basics.  I have been into crafting and art since I was very little.  I home schooled K-12, so much of my time was spent at home entertaining myself with crafts, though I did take a few art classes with other homeschoolers in the local support group.

My maternal grandmother knit, and she taught my cousin and I when we were very little (I would like to say around 6 or 7 years of age).  My aunt crocheted and taught us when we were a little older (9 or 10?).  My paternal grandmother taught me how to cross stitch (when I was 10 or 11.  I picked up other needlepoint myself in 2009).  My mother taught me how to sew when I was 12.  Most of my experience prior to college has been through creating costumes for myself for Halloween, playing ‘pretend’ with my cousin, and making things for friends and family.

Halloween 2007

When I was 10, my family moved to Arizona which is where we currently reside.  I did go back to Kansas for my freshman year of college at Benedictine College (at my parents’ request) in Atchison, Kansas (about an hour north of Kansas City) in August 2009.  I had no idea what I wanted to do in college, so I took a few different courses.  One of them was Intro to Business and while all of the concepts in the class went right over my head, the one thing that stuck, and that everyone was repeating, was, “Do what you love.”  So, I took a step back and thought, “What here do I love?” (I was anticipating staying at Benedictine for all four years of my undergraduate, even though I hated being there.)  I was taking a combination 2D/3D Design class at the time and decided I actually really enjoyed that, so I decided to continue focusing on Art during my college career.

St. Benedict's Abbey at Benedictine College

Keep in mind, I was very unhappy at Benedictine College.  Kansas was not somewhere I wanted to be.  It was cold, wet, and snow was everywhere and would not leave.  I longed for the warm sun and mountainous landscape of Arizona (though California is where I really longed to be, my parents did not seem so open to this option).  My parents had made me a deal when I started at Benedictine: I would go there for a year and then we would discuss other options.  Well, when I came home for Winter Break, I said, “Let’s talk.”

Oh, look, more snow.

With one of my sister’s help, I was reminded that one of my friends was attending Arizona State University and studying Fiber Art.  I thought myself a fool for not realizing it sooner that that is really where I should be and what I should be doing.  So, I transferred from Benedictine College to ASU and began a much happier college career.

In October 2010, I took a 4 class Spinning class at the Fiber Factory in Mesa, AZ.  During the Spring 2011 semester, I took Fibers I.  I learned how to dye and print pigment on fabric, went more in-depth with embroidery, and learned how to felt.  I created a felt Jackalope out of a taxidermy form.  He was fondly named Merlin and has become an inspiration for more felted creatures: two felted baby dragons named Percy and Matilda.

Merlin the Felted Jackalope

Fall ’11 brought on  Surface Design and Woven Structures I (in short, Weaving).  This semester, as far as Fibers classes, I am taking Advanced Surface Design and Woven Structures II.

I have a small obsession with the ocean, so I long to be somewhere, preferably on the West Coast.  I am currently working on looking for internships in and around San Diego.  For now, I just get to make art pieces about it until I’m really there.

Thank for for reading.  Until next time.

Megan

4 responses to “About Megan

  1. I am so glad that you followed your heart and made the decision to go to the college YOU want to be at. Like you, I have a strong attraction to the ocean – but I live in Minnesota! I plan most of my vacations around the ocean.

    I adore your Jackalope! Will you be putting up more images of your work soon??

    • Stephanie, I’m much happier to have gone to ASU. I’m glad you like Merlin! I also have two baby dragons (made from a squirrel taxidermy forms) named Percy and Matilda that I made last summer in the same way. I do plan to put up a portfolio of my work at some point soon.

  2. You are blessed to have heard “Do What You Love” at such an early age. The message that I got going to college was ‘Find what you like, but you better be able to get a good paying job from it.”

    There wasn’t one cell in my being that knew it was ok to be an artist. I ended up as an accountant for 18 years. Then I discovered life coaching. Did that for 3, and then at the age of 40, I found my way to being an artist. I’m 47 now, and going strong.

    Life is too short, no matter what your age, to not do what you love. Follow your bliss….all that stuff. And allow the “What” You Love to change and evolve over your lifetime, as you will change and evolve….but most of all HAVE FUN!

    • Thank you for your inspiring comment, Laurie! You’re very right: Life IS too short. I’m glad that you’ve found your niche in the art world. Keep going at it! You have beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

